Allen Burton DAPE Leadership Award

The purpose of the award is to honor and recognize the outstanding efforts and contributions given to students with disabilities in the area of developmental adapted physical education by a teacher of elementary, secondary or higher education.

In 2002, this award was named after Allen Burton, long time friend of DAPE in MN and many DAPE teachers. We believe Allen continues to touch the lives of students and teachers and we honor his memory through this award.

The MNDAPE Leadership Committee requests that teachers from each region of the state have input on selection of the award recipient. During the Annual Fall Conference, participants have the opportunity of filling out the form and returning it to their region chair.

Nomination deadline is March 30th of the conference year. After this date, each region chair is responsible for submitting the nomination of one member from his/her region. This nominee then provides background information regarding professional history.

The award committee reviews all nominations and determines the recipient at the April DAPE State Leadership Committee meeting. The Allen Burton DAPE Leadership Award winner is notified in May and honored at the Annual DAPE Fall Conference in September. Presentation of the award is made at the welcome session. 

To nominate a Minnesota Region DAPE teacher send Nominee name, MN Region, School, e-mail & mailing address to:

Sue Bremer
5229 Bloomington Ave South

Minneapolis, MN 55417


Past winners of the Allen Burton Leadership Award are:

1999 Lynn Cox - Osseo Area Schools
2000 Patrick Bauman - Virginia Schools
2001 Marion Bauman - Hopkins Schools
2002 Allen Burton - In Remembrance of Allen, University of MN
2003 Ruth Nearing - St. Cloud State University
2004 Rick Rentz - St.Cloud Children’s Home
2005 Lynn Beckenbach - Princeton Schools
2006 Kim Koeck - Moorhead Schools
2007 Jodi Bendickson - Thief River Falls Schools
2008 Sherry Folsom-Meek - Minnesota State University – Mankato
2009 Bruce Suneson - MN Department of Education, Low Incidence
2010 Bonnie Moren - Bloomington Schools
2011 Cathy Thompson - St. Cloud Schools
2012 Mary Jo Norine - Bloomington Public Schools
2013 Luann Palmquist
2014 Teresa Brown - Rushford-Peterson Public Schools
2015 Gail Girard - Bloomington Public Schools

2016 Leta O'Neil - Bloomington Public Schools

2017 Kay Oling - Duluth Public Schools

2017 Marge Shoger - Wayzata Public Schools

2018 Rich Burke - Moundsview Schools

2019 Denny Ceminski and Ingrid Aasan - MN Low Incidence Projects